GA Fights Street Racing with New Law
House Bill 534, which was signed into law on May 3, 2021, enables the State of Georgia to suspend the drivers’ licenses and seize the vehicles of people convicted of “reckless stunt driving,” with prison time possible for repeat offenses.
What is Reckless Stunt Driving?
O.C.G.A. § 40-6-390.1, defines reckless stunt driving as any person who operates any vehicle while drag racing, in violation of Code Section 40-6-186, or laying drags, in violation of Code Section 40-6-251, in reckless disregard for the safety of persons on a highway or upon private property without express authorization from the owner of such property.
Anyone convicted of drag racing on a highway or private property would also face graduated penalties within a ten-year period:
- First conviction: a fine of $300-$750 and 10 days to 6 months in jail
- Second conviction: a fine of $600 to $1,000 and 90 days to one year in jail
- Third conviction: a fine of $1,000 to $5,000 and 120 days to one year in jail
- Fourth conviction: a fine of $1,000 to $5,000 and one to five years in jail
Additionally, any motor vehicle operated by a person who has been declared a habitual violator for three violations of Reckless Stunt Driving, whose license has been revoked, and who is arrested and charged with a violation of Reckless Stunt Driving, is declared to be contraband, and therefore, the police have the right to confiscate that vehicle.
Contact Zimmerman & Associates About Reckless Stunt Driving Charges
If you are charged with reckless stunt driving or any other criminal offense, you have the right to representation by an attorney. Contact Zimmerman & Associates in Norcross, Georgia to set up a consultation.