Charges for Battery Against a Police Officer
Battery against a police officer is a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature, and the penalties for a conviction include up to a year in jail.
What happens during your interaction with the police before or after your arrest can affect the outcome of your criminal case. Now that police body cameras and recording devices in police cars are becoming more prevalent, it is more likely that jurors will be able to see with their own eyes what you and the officers did and did not do. In some cases, this might work in your favor; for example, the prosecution might say that drug paraphernalia was in plain view in your car, when the camera footage shows every part of your car that was visible to the officers when they decided to call for the K-9 unit, and the jurors do not see any drugs. On the other hand, if you react in anger and panic to an officer confronting you, you could face additional charges for resisting arrest, tampering with evidence, or even battery against a police officer. If you are being accused of battery against a law enforcement officer, or against anyone else, contact the Norcrossassault and battery attorneys at Zimmerman & Associates.
Battery Crimes and Georgia Law
Georgia law defines thecrime of simple battery as intentionally touching someone and causing bodily harm involving pain, visible injuries, or both. You can still be convicted of battery if you only contacted the victim’s clothing, but not their skin; for example, it is still simple battery if you punched the victim in the stomach, even though your fist technically only touched the victim’s shirt. If you used a weapon (such as a pocket knife) or an item that can cause severe injury when used as a weapon (such as a baseball bat), then the charge that applies is aggravated battery, not simple battery.
Penalties for Battery Against a Police Officer
Battery is usually a misdemeanor. The maximum penalty is a $1,000 fine, 12 months in jail or a diversion center, one year of probation, and paying restitution to the victim for his or her medical bills for the injury that you caused. If the victim is an on-duty police officer, sports official, or school employee, a minor, a pregnant woman, a family member of yours, or a person at least 65 years old, battery is a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature. This means that, in addition to the usual penalties for misdemeanor battery, the court can order you to pay a fine of up to $5,000.
Contact Zimmerman & Associates About Criminal Defense Cases in Georgia
Even though battery is a misdemeanor, it is worth your while to exercise your right to representation by an attorney. An Atlanta criminal defense attorney can help you if you are facing criminal charges for battery.Contact Zimmerman & Associates in Norcross, Georgia to set up a free consultation.